Skip to main content

Howard Conrad

Important Information About Your Repair

Information about stolen device protection and display messages that appear after having certain parts replaced.

Stolen Device Protection Information

Apple have implemented a new security measure called stolen device protection, meaning that some features and actions have additional security requirements when your iPhone is away from familiar locations. This is great for your security, but massively impacts the range of testing that we can carry out while we have your device. We wouldn’t recommend turning this off permanently, but doing so before your repair makes it so much easier for our technicians, as some functions are completely locked behind Face ID. The easiest way to do so is at a familiar location, such as your home, or work. You can still turn it off in our waiting room, but the process requires a 1-hour time delay that you have to be present for.

To turn it off go to settings, then Face ID & Passcode, then to Stolen Device Protection where it can then be turned off. You can then use the same process to turn it back on again once you have your device back again.

Important Battery Information

Certain iPhone models will now display a warning message when the battery has been replaced. Even if there is nothing wrong with the part this message will still be displayed, without access to apple software verification tools the message cannot be removed. The message will be displayed on your lock screen for 4 days post repair, then in settings for a further 15 days until it finally moves to the about section in settings. This warning does not mean there is an issue with your phone or the parts we have fitted, its simply because we cannot get access to apples software to turn it off. You will also be unable to access the battery health information in settings as a result of the replacement. 

If you have any questions about this please get in touch.

Models affected:

iPhone XR, XS, XS Max

iPhone 11, 11 Pro, 11 Pro Max

iPhone SE 2

iPhone 12, 12 Mini, 12 Pro, 12 Pro Max.

and later models

Important Screen Information

Certain iPhone models will now display a warning message when either the screen or battery has been replaced. Even if there is nothing wrong with the parts this message will still be displayed, without access to Apple software verification tools the message cannot be removed. The message will be displayed on your lock screen for 4 days post repair, then in settings for a further 15 days until it finally moves to the About section in settings. This warning does not mean there is an issue with your phone or the parts we have fitted, it’s simply because we cannot get access to Apple’s software to turn it off.

If you have any questions about this please get in touch.

Models affected:

iPhone 11, 11 Pro, 11 Pro Max

iPhone 12, 12 Mini, 12 Pro, 12 Pro Max *

iPhone 13, 13 Mini, 13 Pro, 13 Pro Max*

iPhone 14, 14 Plus, 14 Pro, 14 Pro Max*

iPhone 15, 15 Plus, 15 Pro 15 Pro Max*

and later models

*After replacing the screens on these iPhone models True Tone and ProMotion are no longer restorable. True Tone is a feature on your iPhone where it uses a sensor to change the colour of your screen to match the ambient lighting of the room you are in, most people don’t even use this feature and your iPhone will still continue to function well without this. ProMotion is a feature on the iPhone 13 and later series. This feature delivers refresh rates of up to 120Hz allowing for smooth scrolling and better responsiveness. Your iPhone will still continue to function well without this feature.

Additional Important Information

Certain iPhone models will now display a warning message when additional parts have been replaced. Even if there is nothing wrong with the part this message will still be displayed, without access to apple software verification tools the message cannot be removed. The message will be displayed on your lock screen for 4 days post repair, then in settings for a further 15 days until it finally moves to the about section in settings. This warning does not mean there is an issue with your phone or the parts we have fitted, its simply because we cannot get access to apples software to turn it off. 

If you have any questions about this please get in touch.

Models affected:

iPhone 12, 12 Mini, 12 Pro, 12 Pro Max – Replacement Camera

iPhone 13, 13 Mini, 13 Pro, 13 Pro Max – Replacement Camera

iPhone 14, 14 Plus, 14 Pro, 14 Pro Max – Replacement Camera

and later models